Human Health and Disease: Chemical Structures, Properties & Reactions

SciFinder-n provides access to scientific literature, and to information about chemical substances and reactions. It is primarily a chemistry and chemical engineering resource, but might also be useful for researchers in biology and other sciences.

Please note: at the moment the database is having sign in technical difficulties. While the team investigates the problem, please try to log in using different browsers and clearing your cookies. Thanks for your patience.

Guide to using SciFinder-n.

There is currently a problem with logging into SciFinder-n on Chrome if you're at Dubai, Orkney or home. Please try a different browser if you get an error message when you login.

Password information for SciFinder n:

In order to use SciFinder-n, you first need to create a user account. Click HERE to create your account.

Repository of small molecule crystal structures. The CSD records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds, whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction and/or neutron diffraction.

Free online database of properties of chemicals. Includes physical and chemical characteristics, structure, etc. (Similar information can be found in SciFinder, which also includes journal articles and reactions.)

Index Chemicus contains the structures and supporting data for novel organic compounds reported in leading international journals.

Over 160,000 inorganic crystal structures and crystal structures of elements.

 

Password information:

You will need to create an account to use ICSD.

On the login page, do not use the "access through your institution link" or the username and password boxes. Instead click on register (at the bottom right of the page) and create an account. You'll need to use your Heriot-Watt email address to register.

Free database with large amount of information about properties, structures, and biological activities of small organic molecules. 

On the results page the "Substance" section finds including chemical structures, chemical names and related comments; the "Compound" section finds chemical structures and information about pharmacology, commerical uses, toxicity, etc.; and the "BioAssay" section searches bioactivity screens of the chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. The "pathway" section lists information about interactions among molecules within a cell that leads to a certain product or a change in the cell, and there are also sections to help you find relevant literature and patents.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds. Six types of spectra are included: electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, 13C NMR spectrum, laser Raman spectrum, and electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

SciFinder-n provides access to scientific literature, and to information about chemical substances and reactions. It is primarily a chemistry and chemical engineering resource, but might also be useful for researchers in biology and other sciences.

Please note: at the moment the database is having sign in technical difficulties. While the team investigates the problem, please try to log in using different browsers and clearing your cookies. Thanks for your patience.

Guide to using SciFinder-n.

There is currently a problem with logging into SciFinder-n on Chrome if you're at Dubai, Orkney or home. Please try a different browser if you get an error message when you login.

Password information for SciFinder n:

In order to use SciFinder-n, you first need to create a user account. Click HERE to create your account.

Analytical Abstracts is an index of journal articles about analytical chemistry. It has links to full text articles, and can be searched by analyte, matrix or technique used.

Physical, mechanical, electrical, thermal, processing and component element properties for over 100,000 materials. Property information is obtained from manufacturer's datasheets.

DETHERM is a thermophysical data for pure substances and mixtures, and is useful for projects on the design and optimization of chemical plants.

 

Password information:

You will need to create an account to use DETHERM.

On the login page, do not use the "access through your institution link" or the username and password boxes. Instead click on register (at the bottom right of the page) and create an account. You'll need to use your Heriot-Watt email address to register.

Free online database of properties of chemicals. Includes physical and chemical characteristics, structure, etc. (Similar information can be found in SciFinder, which also includes journal articles and reactions.)

Free database with large amount of information about properties, structures, and biological activities of small organic molecules. 

On the results page the "Substance" section finds including chemical structures, chemical names and related comments; the "Compound" section finds chemical structures and information about pharmacology, commerical uses, toxicity, etc.; and the "BioAssay" section searches bioactivity screens of the chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. The "pathway" section lists information about interactions among molecules within a cell that leads to a certain product or a change in the cell, and there are also sections to help you find relevant literature and patents.

SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds. Six types of spectra are included: electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, 13C NMR spectrum, laser Raman spectrum, and electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

Information on safety and health hazards of chemicals used in the chemical and other industries.

Includes chemical, biological and industrial hazards; disposal, storage and transportation of chemicals; plant safety and best practice; emergency planning; and information about protective equipment.

SciFinder-n provides access to scientific literature, and to information about chemical substances and reactions. It is primarily a chemistry and chemical engineering resource, but might also be useful for researchers in biology and other sciences.

Please note: at the moment the database is having sign in technical difficulties. While the team investigates the problem, please try to log in using different browsers and clearing your cookies. Thanks for your patience.

Guide to using SciFinder-n.

There is currently a problem with logging into SciFinder-n on Chrome if you're at Dubai, Orkney or home. Please try a different browser if you get an error message when you login.

Password information for SciFinder n:

In order to use SciFinder-n, you first need to create a user account. Click HERE to create your account.

Current Chemical Reactions lists over 800,000 synthetic methods in chemistry, which have been extracted from leading journals and patents. Step-by-step information is included for each reaction.

Analytical Abstracts is an index of journal articles about analytical chemistry. It has links to full text articles, and can be searched by analyte, matrix or technique used.