ISGuides: Academic Development: Databases

Key literature databases

These databases are cross-search by Discovery but may have search features in addition to those available in Discovery.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
1966 to date. Searches over 1000+ journals from multiple publishers.
A subject specific database which covers a wide range of educational-related literature worldwide. Not included in Discovery
ProQuest: Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Searches collections covering: criminology, education, library & information science, linguistics, politics,sociology and social sciences and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Alternative login route: Use https://www.proquest.com/ then click "Log in through your library to access more features" (in centre of screen) and then "Find your library". Then click on change databases to choose PsycINFO.

American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource covering peer-reviewed literature in psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Searches literature on emotion, behaviour, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology and observational & experimental methods.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Alternative login route: Use https://www.sciencedirect.com/ then click on "Sign in" on home page and then "Sign in via your institution".

Use ScienceDirect to find academic journal articles. All the journals on ScienceDirect are published by Elsevier. (ScienceDirect covers biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, and other sciences, along with non-science subjects.)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Alternative login route: Use https://www.scopus.com/home.uri then login via the "Institution" icon on the home page, then "Check access" and then sign in via institutional access.

Scopus is one of the leading databases of peer-reviewed citations and abstracts, covering 21,000 titles from 5,000 publishers in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Scopus recommend uses Chrome or Firefox. Results might not display correctly in Edge.
Web of Science [previously called Web of Knowledge] This link opens in a new window
Alternative login route: Use https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegroup/solutions/web-of-science/ then "Go to product" and then select "UK Federation" regardless of location and then "Go to institution"

Reference and citation data for thousands of indexed journals and conference papers. Use to for 'cited by' and reference list searching. Use "check for full text" on results to check Discovery for full-text.

Web of Science includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1970 to date)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1970 to date)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to date)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990 to date)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990 to date)
Medline (1950 to date)
Biosis Citation Index (1969 to date)
Journal Citation Reports
Index Chemicus (1993 to date)

LibKey Nomad

Download the LibKey Nomad browser extension to link to full-text content from the Library from publisher's websites and other web pages. Find out how on this Skills Hub page.

Google Scholar

To get links to the University Library's full-text materials (FullText@HWU links) in Google Scholar results, use this link to Google Scholar and follow brief instructions on how to adjust your Google Scholar settings on this Skills Hub page.

Academic Development: Databases

Discovery Search

Key literature databases

LibKey Nomad

Google Scholar

Open Teaching Resources