Accounting and Finance: Company, industry and financial databases

BoardEx is only accessible to staff and students in the School of Social Sciences (SoSS). To obtain the username and password please email IShelp@hw.ac.uk.

BoardEx provides daily updated information on quoted company boards through online search and analysis facilities. BoardEx covers over 1.5 million board level directors and senior level managers of over 26,000 quoted companies. The coverage is split into over 6,000 UK company boards, 9,000 US company boards, and a further 6,000 company boards, split between Europe and the rest of the world. For some companies the data goes back to 1997.

The value of BoardEx is the ability to search the database, explore networks of connections between people and companies and to analyse and benchmark boards of quoted companies and their directors. BoardEx provides detailed information on remuneration, experience, other board appointments, accumulated wealth, Long Term Incentive Plan (LTIP) status, biographical history, past and present connections with other companies and organizations and announced changes.

BoardEx can also be used to track individuals, or sets of individuals, as their portfolio of board membership changes; or to identify the influence of an educational institution through the board membership of its alumni.

It can be time consuming tracing individual executives and extracting relevant actions and details. BoardEx eases this process by providing ready made Core Reports in Excel files. Access is available to the following:

1. Compensation (UK, Europe, ROW)
2. Board structure (UK)
3. Director profile (UK)
4. Director profile (Europe).
5. Committee detail (UK)
6. Director network (UK)
7. Company details (UK)
8. Company announcements (UK)

Access to the core reports is for SoSS staff and students only. SoSS students can request access the reports by emailing IShelp@hw.ac.uk.

Alternative login route: Use https://www.ebsco.com/ then click on Person Icon, then Find your organization. Type Heriot Watt and select campus. Click on choose databases and choose Business Source Premier.

A business research database providing full text for 2,300 journals. Also contains some market research reports, company and industry reports and SWOT analyses.

This database has been replaced by (LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace. Access for SoSS staff and students only.

Comprehensive information on companies in the UK and Ireland. You can use it to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis.

Company financials, in detailed format, with up to 10 years of history
Financial strength indicators
Directors and contacts
Original filings/images as filed at Companies House and the Companies Registration Office in Ireland
Stock data for listed companies
Detailed corporate structures and the corporate family
Shareholders and subsidiaries
Industry research
Adverse filings
Business and company-related news
M&A deals and rumours

Fame covers over 8 million companies in the UK and Ireland 

2 million companies in a detailed format
220,000 companies in a summary format
Details of 850,000 companies that are active but not required to file accounts or have yet to file accounts
5 million companies that are no longer active. These are included so you can research patterns in default and confirm previous existence.

Financial data set of Global Banks and Global Sovereigns, plus Global Banking and Sovereign Research.
Heriot-Watt University staff and students can request a login by emailing emeaclientservices@fitchsolutions.com.

Includes information on:-
• Standardized financial data on over 33,000 private and public banks across 200 countries, along with up to 30 years of history
• Each bank statement includes up to 550 data points per bank, 50 pre-calculated ratios and access to the 
original source filing
• Annual and interim financial data for the largest 3,200 bank are available within 48 hours of filing
• Economic data and 3-year forecasts on 110 sovereigns
• Accurate and timely financials on thousands of institutions globally
• Access via the Fitch Connect platform enabling management of credit risk

Excel template available for use with Fitch Connect to extract historical financial data. See here for more information.

Financial data including market data, company financials, earnings estimates, transaction data, analytics and more. This platform replaces Thomson One and Datastream.

Access for SoSS academic staff and students only. A limited number of licences is available with priority given to academic staff (then PGRs, PGTs, UGs). To request a licence to access, please register. Please register using your Heriot-Watt email address. You will receive a welcome email within 48 hours with instructions on how to activate your account and the duration of the licence. During busy periods, product licences will be assigned to users for a limited period. Please read the instructions and terms and conditions in welcome email carefully. 

Once registered and given a licence, access options are: - 

Download and install the application to your own computer from LSEG/Refinitiv. Follow the installation guide installation guide.

Use these PCs on campus: Edinburgh: Mary Burton G22 in Edinburgh campus. Malaysia: Computer Labs 2 and 3 in Malaysia campus. Dubai: all PCs in room 2.44.

Access the web version. Please note this is a limited version compared to the desktop application and some desktop features won't be available. 

Training and guidance materials are available from LSEG/Refinitiv for staff and students / for students / training videos / LSEG/Refinitiv Certification and LSEG/Refinitiv Academy live instructor-led learning are also available. ESG data (asset 4 dataset) can be accessed via the Refinitiv platform, either by searching for the term ESG in the search bar or by searching for a company name and adding ESG to the search string e.g. Apple ESG.

Access to UK and international newspapers and trade press, with foreign language news sources in over 26 languages including full text access to The Financial Times (with a 30 day embargo). Please note: access to the FT is currently unavailable due to an issue affecting all Universities subscribing to Nexis Uni. Guides to searching Nexis Uni.

Detailed company financial information tracking 630,343 publicly listed and very large private companies including ESC score predictor. The 'Very Large' subset has coverage of 118,000 organizations globally with detailed financials, long-term historical data, and granular ownership information, sourced from 170 information providers around the world. This dataset allows you to create time series panel datasets on lists of companies filtered from over 300 search criteria.

Osiris has been replaced with Orbis. Please see Orbis entry above.

This database has been replaced by LSED (Refinitiv) Workspace. Access for SoSS staff and students only.

A database of global company share price and stock data: comparables, earnings estimates, company filings and more. Also covers M&A and private equity data.