It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Download the LibKey Nomad browser extension to link to full-text content from the Library from publisher's websites and other web pages. Find out how on this Skills Hub page.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses and books from a wide range of sources. To add links to Heriot-Watt journal subscriptions in your results go to your Google Scholar settings, library links, search for Heriot-Watt and select.
Books and eBooks, Journal articles (academic), Theses, Websites
Full text availability:
Some full text online.
To get links to the University Library's full-text materials (FullText@HWU links) in Google Scholar results, use this link to Google Scholar and follow brief instructions on how to adjust your Google Scholar settings on this Skills Hub page.
Scopus is one of the leading databases of peer-reviewed citations and abstracts, covering 21,000 titles from 5,000 publishers in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Scopus recommend uses Chrome or Firefox. Results might not display correctly in Edge.
Alternative login route: Use https://www.scopus.com/home.uri then login via the "Institution" icon on the home page, then "Check access" and then sign in via institutional access.
Web of Science includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1970 to date)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1970 to date)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to date)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990 to date)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990 to date)
Medline (1950 to date)
Biosis Citation Index (1969 to date)
Journal Citation Reports
Index Chemicus (1993 to date)
Access to journal content from participating UK public libraries. Browse journal titles from the search page, view abstracts online then visit your local participating library in the UK to view/download the full version.