Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page
The resources and links on this page will be useful for anyone studying or interested in Artificial Intelligence. Included on this guide:
Can't find what you're looking for?
For help searching the library resources, see the Researching for assignments and projects page.
If you looking for information for an assignment or your research, and can't find what you're looking for, contact your Liaison Librarian at R.Whittington@hw.ac.uk
News and Magazines
American Association for Artificial Intelligence.
Online encyclopedia of computing terms
Search for books on your reading list through Discovery
Open Access and Free Books
Books available online either by open access or because the publisher has made them free
Directory of Open Access Books
Searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited collections published under an open access licence, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
Manning free content
Free content from Manning publishers
O'Reilly Open Books
Open access books from O'Reilly publishers
Key Resources for Computer Science
Highlights useful databases for Computer Science. Many more resources are available from Heriot-Watt. Please ask for help at your campus library, or contact Rachel Whittington, the Academic Support and Liaison Librarian for MACS, if you cannot find the information you need.
A-Z list of databases and electronic resources
Complete list of all Heriot-Watt databases and other electronic resources.
Professional Societies and Organisations
Free Data Sets
Below are some sites which supply free datasets