It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing resources: Books and Journals in other Libraries
An overview of how to access resources and answers to some FAQs/common queries
If you want to get hold of a book that we don't have in our Library, see Requesting Resources for advice.
Books and journals in other Universities
Other libraries in Edinburgh, and the rest of the UK, may give access to print books, journals and other materials not held in Heriot-Watt University (though access to their subscribed electronic resources may be restricted). We belong to a number of co-operative arrangements, which mean that Heriot-Watt staff and students can have access to the collections and services of these Libraries. For more information please see our Accessing Other Libraries guide:
Before visiting another Library you should always check whether or not they have the item you need, by checking their Library Catalogue. You should also decide if it is easier to visit one of these libraries or use our Inter Library Loan Service, which allows us to obtain items from other libraries. Generally, books are delivered to the Library for collection and journal articles are sent electronically. Find out more about this service here:
The National Library of Scotland (NLS) receives, on legal deposit, a copy of almost all books and periodicals published in the UK, plus many published abroad. The Library is open for reference only (i.e. its stock cannot be borrowed). It has reading rooms in two buildings: George IV Bridge Building, and Causewayside Building.
You can search the NLS Library Catalogues, to see what they have in their collecitons.
You must register with your Heriot-Watt email address. If you require help with registration, please see their help video.
Comprehensive full-text database of standards, legislation and books. Covering building, civil and structural engineering, mechanical and electrical engineering, construction management, planning and development.
Provided by the EGIS Resource Centre for the use of members of the School of EGIS. The resource is provided by the School's Resource Centre and is NOT searched by Discovery.
Architects' Journal (AJ)
British Standards Institution (BSI)
Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)
Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE)
Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment (CABE)
Concrete Society (CS)
Construction Industry Publications Ltd (CIP)
UK Government departments
English Heritage (EH)
Health and Safety Executive (HSE)
Highways Agency (HA)
House of Commons (HOC)
National House Building Council (NHBC)
Transport Research Laboratory (TRL)
Books and eBooks, Journal articles (academic), Journal articles (trade and magazine)
Full text availability:
Some full text online. If you find something useful in this catalogue, check Discovery to see if you can access the full-text.
iSurvisurv is divided into 10 channels reflecting key fields of built environment interest. Each covers a vast range of relevant issues including:
comprehensive guidance on all aspects of building surveying including building control, maintenance, conservation, energy performance, environmental, neighbourly matters, pathology, safety regulations, statutory matters, surveys and town planning
covering all areas of commercial landlord and tenant work including business rates, landlord & tenant, property management and UK commercial real estate agency
advice on construction and project management issues including building control, contracts (JCT, NRM, NEC3), cost management, disputes, feasibility & planning, finance & tax, procurement, safety regulations, site investigation and statutory matters
covering all aspects including asset, commercial and cost management, design, dispute resolution, health & safety, planning, procurement, project management, sustainability, taxation and technical requirements
essential information on every stage of the planning process including applications & appeal processes, compulsory purchase orders, disputes and enforcements, environmental matters, neighbours & planning and policy
provides the guidance and advice you need to carry out activities in the most professional way. It includes APC and CPD guidance and modules, disputes & problems, environmental assessment, management & policy, ethics & conduct and useful business and financial management skills
detailed advice from industry experts including residential property standards, valuation, lettings law, block management, terms of appointment, ASTs and deed of guarantee templates, and all aspects of property lettings and management
covering agricultural property, rural and land matters including disputes, tenancies, planning & development, property management, sustainability, valuation and wayleaves & easements
this area provides detailed knowledge and advice on real estate performance (EPCs and DEAs), land use & resource management, environmental hazards, assessment tools (BREEAM and Ska rating), planning , policy & regulation and land use & construction
essential guidance on all valuation issues including RICS red book, valuation practice & methodology, guidance and advice on all types of residential, commercial and specialist properties