ISGuides: EGIS selected books, journals and web resources: Renewables

Useful Renewables Books

Comprehensive Renewable Energy by Ali Sayigh
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 0080878733
Publication Date: 2012
"'Comprehensive Renewable Energy' is arranged according to the most important themes in the field (photovoltaic technology; wind energy technology; fuel cells and hydrogen technology; biomass and biofuels production; hydropower applications; solar thermal systems: components and applications; geothermal energy; ocean energy)"
Renewable Energy by Bent Sørensen
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 0080890660
Publication Date: c2011
"The book has been structured around three parts in order to assist readers in focusing on the issues that impact them the most for a given project or question. PART I covers the basic scientific principles behind all major renewable energy resources, such as solar, wind and biomass. Part II provides in-depth information about how these raw renewable sources can actually be converted into useful forms, transmitted into the grid and stored for future utilization. Finally, part III undertakes the aspects of energy planning, environmental impacts and socio-economic issues on regional and global levels. In this fourth edition update, new material includes expanded coverage of biofuels, solar conversion, biomass and fuel cells, storage and transmission, and a new chapter on integrated technologies to introduce the hybrid systems now being explored."
Renewable Energy Systems by Henrik Lund
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 0080962998
Publication Date: 2009
"In this practical guide, globally recognized renewable energy researcher and professor Henrik Lund describes the modeling and simulation techniques that can be utilised to ensure at the outset of any renewable energy project that the resources available will meet supply demands. A clear, comprehensive methodology is set forth for comparing different energy systems' abilities to integrate fluctuating and intermittent renewable energy sources."
Wind Energy Explained by J. F. Manwell; J. G. McGowan; Anthony L. Rogers
Call Number: Available online. Also available in Edinburgh Campus Library at 621.45 MAN
ISBN: 0470686286
Publication Date: 2009
"[I]ncludes up-to-date data, diagrams, illustrations and thorough new material on: the fundamentals of wind turbine aerodynamics; wind turbine testing and modelling; wind turbine design standards; offshore wind energy; and, special purpose applications, such as energy storage and fuel production."
Wind Energy Generation: Modelling and Control by Olimpo Anaya-Lara; Nick Jenkins; Janaka Ekanayake; Phill Cartwright; Michael Hughes; Olimpo Anaya-Lara
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 0470748230
Publication Date: 2009
"'Wind Energy Generation' describes the fundamental principles and modelling of the electrical generator and power electronic systems used in large wind turbines. It also discusses how they interact with the power system and the influence of wind turbines on power system operation and stability. The book includes a comprehensive account of power electronic equipment used in wind turbines and for their grid connection; describes enabling technologies which facilitate the connection of large-scale onshore and offshore wind farms; provides detailed modelling and control of wind turbine systems; and, shows a number of simulations and case studies which explain the dynamic interaction between wind power and conventional generation.
Cleveland, C.J. and Morris, C.G. (eds.) (2014) Dictionary of Energy. San Diego: Elsevier Science.
ISBN: 9780080968124
Cleveland, C.J. and Morris, C.G. (eds.) (2013) Handbook of energy. Volume I. Burlington: Elsevier Science.
ISBN: 0080914578
Cleveland, C.J. and Morris, C.G. (eds.) (2014) Handbook of energy. Volume II. Waltham, MA: Elsevier Science.
ISBN: 0124170196

Browse eJournals with Browzine

For further help with journals see:

EGIS journals

For help finding journal articles, see:

EGIS articles

Useful Websites for Renewables Research

UK Energy Statistics and Information
Brilliant source of UK energy statistics, collated by the UK Energy Research Centre. Provides statistcs about energy usage, trends, historical data, the energy market, renewable technologies, etc.
Scottish Government Renewable Energy website
Scottish Government site on renewable energy. Lots of useful links to policy documents. The Scottish Government also have a Scottish Energy Statistics Hub.
Wind speeds/Solar energy [UK]
The UK government NOABL wind speed database is no longer available online, but RenSMART have converted this data into a user-friendly map, which also includes solar energy values.
Statistical Review of World Energy
Provides "high-quality objective and globally consistent data on world energy markets"
Kingfisher Bulletins
"Up-to-date information about offshore hazards and activities for the oil and gas, subsea cable, renewable energy and marine aggregate industries".

These bulletins are updated fortnightly, and are now published online.
CEFAS Aquatic Environment Reports
The Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Science environment reports, including the Aquatic Environment Monitoring Reports, are now available online
UK Government Renewables Statistics (replaces RESTATS)
Statistical information on renewable energy projects from the UK government. Includes the planning database, giving progress of renewable energy planning applications.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
US government laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research. Good starting point for factual information about renewable technology. Produces the Renewable Energy Data Book, an excellent source of up-to-date statistical information about renewables in the USA.
Alternative Fuels Data Center
US government website about alternative fuels for vehicles. Good source of basic factual information.
European Commission Renewable Energy website
Information about European Union targets, links to Directives, progress reports, etc.
UK Renewable Energy Roadmap
UK government site about UK progress towards meeting the 2009 EU Renewable Energy Directive. Updated annually.
Renewable Energy Association
Trade body for the UK renewables industry.
EUR-Lex
EU law, including the Official Journal, treaties, and case law.

espacenet This link opens in a new window
Key resource for finding patents with full versions of over 130 million patents and patent applications from around 90 countries.

Coverage varies from country to country. Espacenet includes:
German patents from 1877 onwards
French patents from 1900 onwards
British patents from 1859 onwards
US patents from 1836 onwards
.
Use espacenet instead of Google's patent search. There's more help on finding patents at https://isguides.hw.ac.uk/patents
ECOLEX This link opens in a new window
Information on environmental law treaties, international policies, guidance documents, national legislation, and case law.

Most items are available in full text.
BGS Map Viewers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to:
Geology of Britain Viewer
A simple tool, aimed at the general public, which helps you explore the geology where you live.

The UK Soil Observatory (UKSO)
A collaboration of institutions providing and delivering information about the diverse soil types of the UK. The UKSO map viewer is free and easy to use, and has some of the most accurate soil data for the UK available.

The groundwater levels timeline map
Provides online access to a timeline of monthly groundwater levels across the UK from 1970 to the present day.

BGS maps portal
Provides high resolution viewing of images of almost all small and medium scale maps produced by BGS since mapping started in 1832.

Open-loop ground source heat pumps
A tool developed by the BGS in collaboration with the Environment Agency that provides an indication of whether the conditions for ground loop systems exist in a given area.

BGS Infiltration SuDS map
Provides an assessment of the suitability of the subsurface for the installation of infiltration sustainable drainage systems (SuDS).

GeoIndex (offshore)
Shows the range of marine geoscience data held by the BGS within the National Geoscience Data Centre (NGDC).

GeoIndex (onshore)

Freely available
Digimap This link opens in a new window
We have access to following collections:

• Environment
• Geology
• Historic
• Marine
• Ordinance Survey

You can
• View, annotate and print maps from a variety of geospatial data providers
• Download geospatial data for use in CAD and GIS systems
• Access information about geospatial data and resources
Access info:
Digimap uses Shibboleth/Institutional log-in. In addition you have to personally register to use the service.

Digimap Help Centre