Electronic copies of research postgraduate theses are available through ROS: The Research Output Service. Most research postgraduate theses from 2009 onwards are available in ROS.
Please ask for help at your campus library if you would like to read a Heriot-Watt research postgraduate theses that is not in ROS.
Print copies of research postgraduate theses from Heriot-Watt University are available in the Edinburgh campus library. Details are included in Discovery. If you're looking for a specific thesis, you can search by author or title in Discovery. Most research theses can only be used in the library, but if two copies are held, one may be borrowed at Edinburgh campus.
The Scottish Borders Campus Library holds collections of postgraduate theses, dissertations and selected student projects for subjects taught and researched at the Scottish Borders Campus.
The “Theses Collection” includes PhDs, MPhils, and other types of dissertation.
All theses and some projects are listed in Discovery. If you are looking for a specific thesis or project, you can search by author or title in Discovery.
The full text of more recent research postgraduate theses may be available in PDF format through the University’s Research Output Service, ROS.
Theses are kept in the Thesis Room on the Ground Floor of the Library. If you wish to look at a thesis, please give details to the Service Desk. Most theses are for "Reference" only, but if two copies are held, one may be borrowed.
Student Projects are located behind the Library Service Desk, and should be requested from staff at the Desk.
For more information on theses and student projects, please ask at the Campus Library Service Desk.
The Dubai Campus Library holds collection of around 250 postgraduate dissertation from selected students. Dissertations are from students who studied Construction Management; Quantity Surveying; Petroleum Engineering; Logistics and Supply Chain Management; Strategic Project Management; Finance; etc.
All dissertations are listed in Discovery which can be searched by Author or Title. Dissertations can be borrowed for one week from Dubai campus library.
Ask at Dubai campus library service desk for more help with accessing dissertations.
The Edinburgh campus library has some older (pre-2014) undergraduate honours dissertations and masters dissertations from various courses. A list of these dissertations is available from the Service Desk or online.
The Malaysia campus library has a collection of selected psychology student research projects, which are kept at the Information Services helpdesk. These are available to psychology students only, for consultation within the main library area (they cannot be borrowed).
If a student from outside psychology wishes to view a psychology project the should seek permission from the Psychology Programme Director.
Orkney Campus has a range of MSc dissertations and PhD theses about renewable and marine energy, including marine resource management and marine planning. Paper copies are kept at the Orkney Campus and can be borrowed by ICIT MSc and PhD students, as well as visiting interns. A list of available dissertations can be viewed at Orkney campus.
Orkney dissertations are not available online. Most of the recent (post-2009) Orkney PhD theses will be available online in ROS.
This database indexes masters dissertations and doctoral-level theses from countries including the UK, USA and Ireland. Many of these are available in full text.
NB UK and Irish "PhDs by publication" (i.e. PhDs awarded by the evaluation of journal articles instead of a thesis) are not included in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Abstracts.
Full-text availability: most dissertations from 1997 onwards are available as full-text. Abstracts available from July 1980 and simple bibliographic citations available for older works
Provided by Association of Researchers in Construction Management (ARCOM).
Sources:
Indexes 22 leading construction management journals, ARCOM Conference Proceedings and PhD theses.
Coverage:
1960 to present.
Subject Coverage:
Architectural engineering, Building, Design management, Engineering, Design and technology, Construction education, Construction management and economics, Construction marketing, Construction procurement, Financial management, Real estate
Full text:
Abstracts only. Use Discovery to check for full-text. Where no full-text is available, you may be able to apply for Inter-Library Loan (ILL).
Appointments may be made with Graphic and Printing Services for comb binding. Each five minute appointment allows up to three comb bindings for dissertations and reports. If you require more than three bindings, then you should book the the next slot too.
