Technical reports are written by engineers about their designs, projects and other work. They are often more detailed than a journal article, but are not normally peer-reviewed. Technical reports can be good sources of practical information for using in your coursework and future employment. Reports from the USA are often easier to find than reports from the UK, particularly if the project was funded by the US government.
Here are some sources of technical reports:
Providing access to over 200,000 items of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Provided by the Society of Petroleum Engineers on behalf of 21 publishing partners. Content dating from 1885 to present.
Subject Coverage:
Engineering, Petroleum technology, Marine technology
Sources:
Book and eBooks, Conference papers, Journal articles (academic), Reports
Includes Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) Papers Online (covers publications from 1991 to 2005).
Full text availability:
This is a full text resource.
Alternative login route: Use https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp then click "Institutional sign in" on the home page and then search for your institution.
IEEE XPlore is the key resource for all types of engineering research. It contains millions of full text journal articles from across all areas of engineering (not just electrical).
The ACM Digital Library contains full text journals, conference proceedings, magazines and newsletters from the Association for Computing Machinery.
